Regions in Bhutan

Bhutan is made up of 21 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Bhutan. Information on all primary administrative regions in Bhutan.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Bhutan alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Bhutan

There are 21 regions in Bhutan in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Bhutan
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Bumthang District Bumthang Dzongkhag1.21,658Jakar Jakar6,243
Chukha Chhukha Dzongkhag2.61,173Tsimasham Tsimasham2,855
Dagana Dagana Dzongkhag3.26,837Daga Daga2,243
Gasa Gasa4.3,500Gasa Gasa548
Haa Haa Dzongkhag5.13,655Ha Ha1,449
Lhuntse Lhuentse Dzongkhag6.14,437Lhuentse Lhuentse100
Mongar Mongar Dzongkhag7.37,150Mongar Mongar2,969
Paro Paro Dzongkhag8.46,316Paro Paro11,448
Pemagatshel Pemagatshel Dzongkhag9.23,632Pemagatshel Pemagatshel13,864
Punakha Punakha Dzongkhag10.28,740Punakha Punākha21,500
Samdrup Jongkhar Samdrup Jongkhar Dzongkhag11.35,079Samdrup Jongkhar Samdrup Jongkhar9,325
Samtse District Samtse Dzongkhag12.64,805Samtse Samtse5,396
Sarpang District Sarpang Dzongkhag13.46,004Sarpang Sarpang10,416
Thimphu District Thimphu Dzongkhag14.138,736Lungtenzampa Lungtenzampa-
Thimphu District Thimphu Dzongkhag15.138,736Thimphu Thimphu98,676
Tongsa Trongsa Dzongkhag16.19,960Trongsa Trongsa2,805
Trashi Yangste Trashi Yangste17.17,300Trashi Yangtse Trashi Yangtse3,025
Trashigang District Trashigang Dzongkhag18.45,518Trashigang Trashigang872
Tsirang District Tsirang Dzongkhag19.29,207Tsirang Tsirang22,376
Wangdi Phodrang Wangdue Phodrang Dzongkhag20.42,186Wangdue Phodrang Wangdue Phodrang8,954
Zhemgang District Zhemgang Dzongkhag21.27,048Shemgang Shemgang852